Giving Thanks

25 Nov

Thanks to the planning made by Mrs. Cremins and director of basketball operations Jonathan Cremins, the Cougars enjoyed a delicious three-course Thanksgiving team meal at Virginia’s On King Street on Thursday evening. The city of Charleston is known for its five-star cuisine and restaurants – and tonight’s chef didn’t disappoint.

First on the menu was a roasted acorn and butternut squash soup (which most of the players were adventurous enough to try) followed by traditional Thanksgiving fixins’ in fried turkey breasts, gravy, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole and cranberry relish. Pumpkin pie with almond and pecan crumble was served for dessert to top it all off 🙂

I interviewed a couple of the players during our meal, but the audio wasn’t sufficient enough to hear with the background noise using my handy FlipCam. Here were their thoughts on Turkey Day …

“I’m thankful for my family, my team and tonight’s Thanksgiving dinner,” said junior Antwaine Wiggins from Greeneville, Tenn.

“I’m thankful for God sending his son to die for our sins,” said freshman Trent Wiedeman from Suwanee, Ga.

“I’m thankful for everything in my life. I’m thankful for my family, my teammates and my coaches. I’m blessed to attend college and play college basketball. I know there are people out there who are less fortunate, so I’m thankful for every opportunity I’ve been given.” – said freshman Nori Johnson from Duncan, S.C.

